Author Topic: Air brushing playfield touch ups  (Read 1977 times)

Offline Crashramp

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Albury
Air brushing playfield touch ups
« on: February 10, 2014, 01:03:38 PM »
Hi all,
I’m doing a tidy up on my Kings of Steel and like many little projects, it’s grown somewhat. My goal for this game is really just to have a neat clean game which plays as well as it can. At the moment I’m tidying up the playfield but I’ve never done any airbrushing before so I have some paint questions.

Background:
-          Airbrush painting of select areas of the playfield. I’m mainly using Humbrol enamels but the blue is a Tamiya enamel.

Questions:
-          Once I have finished a colour should I seal it with a clear or leave it until I do the whole playfield?
-          If I leave it to seal later, how long should I leave it before being able to safely tape over it to do the next colour?
-          What is the best tape to use? At the moment I’ve been using 3M Scotch Blue tape.
-          What’s a good clear coat to use?
-          Is an Airbrush suitable to apply clearcoat or do I need a bigger spray gun?

This is where I’m up to at the moment.

Thanks.

Offline Boots

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Adelaide
Re: Air brushing playfield touch ups
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 02:13:07 PM »
Sealing it between colours will lock in that colour.
An airbrush will take way too long to seal so you will need a spray gun or you could use automotive clear in a big spray can.
The big spray can is very convenient as you only need to seal small areas and that would be a nuisance getting your spray gun dirty just for a 2 minute job.

Offline Slash

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Forum Posts:
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 02:22:32 PM »
What's the quality like of the automotive clear spray cans?

Offline Boots

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Adelaide
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 05:26:09 PM »