Author Topic: Gottlieb System 80 abnormal voltages  (Read 1756 times)

Offline Pauly540

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
  • BOTANY NSW
Gottlieb System 80 abnormal voltages
« on: January 09, 2015, 06:59:26 PM »

Hi Guys,
I’ve been restoring a Gottlieb Volcano on and off for the last 12 months, most work has been repairing/clear coating the playfield. I'll start a new tread on that soon.  *%*
Over the Xmas break she is finally back together, powers up and plays (thanks Beaky), but all of a sudden I noticed the uncontrolled solenoids started to really smash the ball to a point where I’m going to break some plastics!
A final thing to do was add the sound board (which I haven’t plugged in yet) as the under playfield PSU kept blowing fuses and blew out the 12v regulator on this PSU.

As far as I can tell, only Mars God of War and Volcano used these wooden PSU’s.
So leaving this PSU disconnected I put a multimeter across the main rectifiers.
The 12V rectifier has correct 14VAC in, but has 25VDC out!

It’s the same for the uncontrolled solenoid 38V rectifier. 34VAC in, but 60VCD out, with 60VDC going to the coils. I understand that this is unregulated, but that's a tad high!  !@#
The really weird thing is that if I leave the machine unplugged for 24hrs, disconnect everything going to the lower power board, power up and I get correct 14VCD and 38VDC from these rectifiers.
I then plug everything back in, power up and its back to 25V & 60V. Disconnect everything again, but they still stay at these high outputs until things cool down. I’m trying to rule out any shorts in the back box/Playfield and any caps holding charge.
I installed a new Great Plains A2 PSU which has the added smoothing caps installed (marked in red) eliminating the need of the lower (ORANGE) 12V cap across the rectifier. I have also tried installing a new large lower cap (with the A2 disconnected) and I’m still getting 25VDC.

The A2 outputs are:
TP3 – 5.11V
TP4 – 8.02V
TP6 – 66.2V
TP7 – 47.7V