Author Topic: Sad condition Gorgar  (Read 835 times)

Offline bsa

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
Sad condition Gorgar
« on: September 22, 2011, 02:01:41 PM »
Hello Ive decided to attempt a resto on this machine and am a complete novice so i hope i ask too many repeat or silly questions.
The first point is one that gets a lot of coverage, the play field has a large section of mylar (from the snake pit down) and is mostly in good condition, needs a good clean and wax, however the lamp inserts underneath are low or high or cupped and need attention. Around these inserts the mylar is damaged. I am hesitant to remove such a large piece as this machine has been stored in extreme conditions (wet and dry) and looks like the paint is cracked in a number of places under the sheet. Please all or any suggestions needed I want to get the play field right as i see no point in having bumps and hollows anywhere. Thanks Mark.

Offline Strangeways

• Pinball Restoration is my passion
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Melbourne
  • ABN 68 283 634 461
    • Ride The Boney Beast
Re: Sad condition Gorgar
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 03:10:00 PM »

Hi Mark !

Tons of info on mylar and contact removal. Type in either word in the search field and enjoy the reading !

In my opinion, that looks like contact and should come off easy using the hair dryer method. If inserts are raised or loose, you sometimes don't have much of an option.
Aussie Pinball - Proud to be Australia's Premier Pinball Forum

http://www.australianpinballrestorations.com.au/

http://www.rtbb.com.au/catalog/

We carry the largest range of NEW Ramps in Australia

Offline bsa

• Forum Posts:
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 10:29:14 PM »