Author Topic: Career change – want to become a photographer and make a living by it.  (Read 690 times)

Offline Prince

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
Hi guys.

This is a call out for me to get some feedback and guidance into making a career change into Photography. I’ve been a hobbyist for the past year, by taking picks of my kids, places of interest and the odd birthday occasion, where feedback from others have been overwhelmingly positive.

My career up to this point has been working in the consumer electronics business, as an Internal Sales Manager for a local wholesaler, selling fridges, washing machines etc. Recently, I’ve encountered what you might say as a “wake up call” and mentally, I’m burnt out in my role and have decided to call it a day.

I have a passion for photos and its artwork and wanting to embark on something new and completely different in my life. How does one get started in this industry? I’ve looked into the short courses side of things, but I feel that I’m more inclined to learn hands on with someone, rather than be confined in a classroom environment. I need to learn all aspects of photography and would like to use this skill to provide me a reasonable income. I have no knowledge of running my own business, nor how to make a webpage and blogs. I’m new to post processing (Lightroom) though, I do need some training.

Anyone think I’m crazy?

Stephen.
SC.

Offline Caveoftreasures

• Trade Count: (+16)
  • Forum Posts:
There are courses at TAFE n places like that depending on your state and location. In fact, Centrelink (social security) can pay you to do a course, and sometimes even up to 3 years if the professional course goes that long.