Author Topic: 1980 Bally Space Invaders Cleanup  (Read 6025 times)

Offline Jango

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
1980 Bally Space Invaders Cleanup
« on: July 07, 2011, 09:35:13 PM »
Hi everyone,
I recently purchased a 1980 Bally Space Invaders pin.  It needs a little work so I thought I'd document the process for anyone that is interested.  It should be noted that I have never done a proper cleanup or restore on a pin before and I have zero experience in this field.  I must say that I would not dare to call this a restore thread, purely as a result of the high end restores and skills possessed by others on this forum (Nino, El Timbo, etc).  Whatever I do will never live upto the end result achieved by these guys and others here.  Tim actually has a T2 undergoing a full hot rod treatment for me right now!!.  Therefore I will be calling this a cleanup only.

I have always wanted a Space Invaders pinball machine after playing it when I was a kid at the Colonial Diner in Anzac Parade Moore Park in the 80's (Its no longer there after being demolished years ago and only the tennis courts remain).  We'd finish school across the road and pop over there and play machines as kids.  I have not seen a Space Invaders in the wild since those days and purchased this particular one sight unseen and on memories alone!

Here are some pics of the machine as received

Firstly, I'd like to thank the following members for their fantastic assistance when I've asked questions relating to this machine:

Retropin (Gav) - told me to buy the machine as it was in pretty good condition (pics as references only) and he also advised me extremely well on the boards etc - a huge thank you and great advice!!
Nino - his restore thread (http://aussiepinball.com/index.php?topic=478.0) on this same machine gave me heaps of ideas and reference points.  He also assisted with many many questions I had and still have - thanks Nino