Author Topic: Sunday Pinball mutterings  (Read 864 times)

Offline Extra Ball

• Read-Only
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Newcastle
Sunday Pinball mutterings
« on: December 13, 2009, 01:25:59 PM »
I am new to pinball in some respects. As a teen in the 80's I played alot of EMs at home, but got very little exposure to Solid State machines. During the 90's I probably only had 1 or 2 games on a sited pin, seems I was doing other stuff back then. My grounding is in EM pinball, EMs taught me how to get into the flow of the game, to nudge, to make subtle shots, and EMs were designed to take coin fast. I must say that I am a crap player really, but I have the odd good score.

I think this gives me a unique insight into pinball, allthough it could be argued that I have a limited view. My opinions of various machines has been based upon playing the games of collectors (which I consider a privelige). Nearly allways these machines play flawlessly, and give you the best opportunity to know/enjoy that particular game. When I walk up to play most 80's and 90's games I have little to no pre-experiences, pre-judgements, and am excited for this "first time".

Because my grounding is in EMs I am drawn to solid states/dmds that remind me of EM play. EM play for me is, walk-up simplicity, challenging shot play, fast flowing action (no stop and start, forever trapping the ball stuff), and a good game is a fast one (pure pinball). Games like WCS94, Fishtales, Dr Who, Black Rose, The Flintstones, Rocky and Bullwinkle, all really float my boat because they tick all the boxes for simple, and fast fun (I admit couple of these games can be played more deeply). I could list some 80's games, but in my experience this was the era that got it right (ok gotta mention Nugent lol), and tables were not significantly different (with the expection of multi-level, ramps etc).