Author Topic: why does everyone seem to use acrylic or 2 pack for cab resprays?  (Read 6054 times)

Offline dealers choice

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Cessnock, N.S.W
As the title sugests, why does everyone seem to use automotive acrylic or 2 pack paints for cab resprays? Ive only ever used enamel paint untill recently and have noticed the BIG diferance in the amount of thinners used with acrylic paint. Apart from that acrylic is much more expensice. Apart from being near imposible to get a run with acrylic , what is so good about it that makes it worth the price diferance? I'm by no means an expert in differant paint qualities or longjevity (not even spelling) I'm just curious. !@#
Bren
I'm not cranky, I just want MORE pins!

Offline Strangeways

• Pinball Restoration is my passion
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Melbourne
  • ABN 68 283 634 461
    • Ride The Boney Beast
Personally, I use acrylics because that's what my father taught me to use. We have a restored Bally Bingo "Miami Beach" which was done 10-12 years ago and it looks exactly as it was the day we repainted it. There's no problem with using enamels - it is whatever you are comfortable using, I've never used 2-pac paints, so I really don't know the pros and cons. I just love working with acrylics as that's what works for me.
Aussie Pinball - Proud to be Australia's Premier Pinball Forum

http://www.australianpinballrestorations.com.au/

http://www.rtbb.com.au/catalog/

We carry the largest range of NEW Ramps in Australia

Offline Retropin

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Forum Posts:
If using acrylic lacquer then you can get a cab respray graphics done in a day easy.. enamels? Probably do one colour one weekend and the next on the 2nd weekend due to the long hardening times.
Acrylic lacquer goes on thinner too and gives a more authentic finish
But.. it is easier to match colours with enamels.