Author Topic: Pinball explained..  (Read 1955 times)

Offline Retropin

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Forum Posts:
Pinball explained..
« on: May 21, 2017, 11:55:31 AM »
Pete who has the workshed next to mine is an electrical engineer.. clever bloke who has a few inventions under his belt one of which is a machine still used in principal today that detects deep vein thrombosis via  a non invasive technique.
We often bounce ideas and discuss stuff over cups of tea in my shed where ive got a couple of pinball machines im working on.
He stands at the machines like a complete novice saying stuff like.."so I use these to move the bat things and hit the ball right?"

@.@ @.@ @.@

Anyway, this morning he sends me an email... enjoy.

Just watch a pinball video still don't get it ? However it's a great tool for learning trajectory depending on the mass of the ball But the formula does not take in to consideration the slope of the table or the friction of the ball on the table surface so obviously g will be portional to F=MxA over the deceleration of mass over the tan of the slope

Offline oldskool1969

• Trade Count: (0)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • perth
Re: Pinball explained..
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2017, 12:32:44 PM »
NNNNNNNNEEEEEEEERRRRRRRDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!   

thats the beauty of the silver ball, you just too many variables.
If it isn't broke, it isn't pinball.

Offline Mr Pinbologist

• Trade Count: (+5)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Wauchope NSW
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 01:08:23 PM »
WOW!!!   *!@ *!@

Offline OziMoose

• Forum Posts:
  • Gold Coast/Sydney
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2017, 03:18:10 PM »
This is probably why Im not a fan of virtual or digital pins. Having played a few on Xbox1, the variables and kinetics are not the same as the real deal.   
The Addams Family hates me!

Offline Retropin

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Forum Posts:
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2017, 03:29:20 PM »
Absolutely,