Author Topic: Williams driver board q  (Read 380 times)

Offline FirePower

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Sydney
Williams driver board q
« on: May 30, 2009, 06:48:38 PM »
I have a problem with my Williams driver board. As background I am an engineer who works in the automation field and am ok with methodical testing and fault finding techniques, I can read schematics, logic and software are no problem. I have limited skills in component level electronics, but a basic understanding. My fault finding has led me to believe I have a blown final solenoid drive TIP122 transistor (Q6). The background is that solenoid fuse (F2) blows on startup. Observation lead me to believe a bumper was staying energised. Disconnecting the special solenoid connector 2J12 from the drive board allows the fuse to survive. An examination of the bumper in question shows the coil resistance (4 ohm) and associated switching (special input and matrix) to be good. A 0V drive signal is present on the solenoid drive pin (2J12-3) at all times and this is providing a path to ground, permanently energising the bumper. The logic on the ttl gates IC6 and IC8 driving the 2N4401 pre switch transistor appear to be functioning.  The final straw that leads me to believe the solenoid drive transistor is blow is that the collector to solenoid ground resistance is about 1 ohm. The other functioning final drive transistors read a typical resistance for this collector to ground path of about 6 MegOhm.  (One other measures 800 kOhm and I plan to replace it as well)

So, I have to pull out the drive card and attack it with a soldering iron - this is doable but makes me a bit nervous, so I'd like to do the sensible thing and replace any other components whilst I have the card out and on the bench. So, as a newbie, my questions are;
 - Is it normal to replace both the pre driver 2N4401 and driver TIP122  of the questionable soleniod drive at the same time?