Author Topic: Atari Superman restore  (Read 5822 times)

Offline Mr Pinbologist

• Trade Count: (+5)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Wauchope NSW
Atari Superman restore
« on: March 19, 2019, 11:02:50 PM »
Hi guys, been a while since i've posted any restore threads so i thought i'd share some of the progress pics from one of several games i've been working on for the last six months..

This Atari Superman was dropped off to me in July last year.. completely out of the blue, didn't even know i was getting it!! I was already working on a Wms Little Chief for the owner at the time, and i thought he was calling in one Sunday to check on its progress! Then he informed me he had bought another pin and want me to take a look at it.. next thing i knew we were unloading this Superman out of his vehicle.

Having had no previous experience with Atari pins, I had a couple of months earlier advised him against buying anything Atari if it didn't work, he assured me this one DID play.. just had no sound, so we set it up and confirmed that it did indeed play.

As can be seen in the pics it was in ROUGH shape!! lots of badly delaminated ply on the cabinet and backbox, and the playfield had some wear and every insert was loose.. so to cut a long story short.. this 'quick fix' turned into a full restoration!

Some pics of the game as received;

Some of the delaminated ply.. in places it was literally falling apart!!

Backglass is in nice shape!!

Playfield; Overall not too bad, a couple of small wear spots, ALL of the inserts were loose and it had a full mylar over the whole playfield.. which had worn through around a lot of the inserts.

Fast forward a couple of months, the work started; the teardown begins  :D
Playfield out and mounted into a rotisserie

Backglass removed and put aside wrapped in cardboard for safe keeping

I started with the cabinet repairs, the back panel was falling apart so it was replaced with new plywood.