Author Topic: BALLY MPU Kit Assembly Log  (Read 1701 times)

Offline Strangeways

• Pinball Restoration is my passion
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Melbourne
  • ABN 68 283 634 461
    • Ride The Boney Beast
BALLY MPU Kit Assembly Log
« on: May 30, 2011, 12:02:48 AM »

I have been keenly following Mike's progress on this project and I'm very pleased it has progressed this far, so quickly. So before I start, I'd like to thank Mike for his efforts, and I hope that this guide presents the product in the best possible way. Now I'm like most electronic enthusiasts, I was brought up on Dick Smith and Tandy "do it yourself" electronic kits, so I was really looking forward to building this MPU. I have plenty of experience repairing and rebuilding this MPU board and I've succeeded in bringing back some boards that others would have thrown out. I see those boards as a challenge, but they are TIME CONSUMING to repair. The Altek board has long been an adequate replacement board, but it is always a costly replacement. I have an Altec board that I use - but only to test in my Bally and Stern machines while restoring. I seldom leave them in a game for long periods. I like the idea of the ORIGINAL MPU. That's why I'm VERY keen to see this format almost REPLACE the Altek for Bally and Stern games. Don't get me wrong - there IS a place for Alteks, but it is not cost effective to buy one for the sole purpose of replacing a corroded and fatigued original board. That's where the HOMEPIN board fits in nicely. I have over 20 Bally and Stern Games, and I would use the Altek during the restoration, and then either use an adequate original board, or a Homepin board. I understand circumstances will be different for everyone, but that's where I see this product heading. I fully restored KISS should either have a pristine original MPU, or a Homepin MPU board BEFORE an Altek. Thats because I'm a purist and I like the originality of this boa