Author Topic: PIC programming  (Read 611 times)

Offline Retropin

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Forum Posts:
PIC programming
« on: July 03, 2011, 11:08:23 AM »
Looks like im finally embracing the future and so im learning how to program a PIC chip.
Armed with a very expensive book from Jaycar ( US$29.95 on the back... scans at UA$59.95 at counter!).. im reading up.

I know a lot of you already use PIC and so id like to pic your brains if possible.

I did basic at school some 30 years ago... its pretty piss easy so i have no problems with that... my question is do i really have to buy
PicBasic Compiler at US$100 and then an EPIC Programmer at another US$50  or so??

Is there a cheaper way to do this at all??

Guess i should have stolen the program when i was 14 eh?

Cheers all.....

Offline 48

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Forum Posts:
Re: PIC programming
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2011, 12:11:31 PM »
AFAIK (and I am no expert!) you can program them with the GQ4X programmer, no adapters needed.
They cost around $90 from mcumall.
As I said I am no expert but haven't found a chip yet that I can't program realatively easily, and I knew nothing about the subject when I started.
Hope that is of some help to you, but no doubt there are experts here!
Lets go Brandon!

Offline Homepin

• Trade Count: (+15)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Not a business - A Passion!
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2011, 12:25:27 PM »
I write all programs using Notebook (free with Windows) Then compile it with MPASM (Free download from the Microchip site) - The best programmer I have found is a USB compatible Pickit2 (I believe there is now version 3?) - from an eBay seller for about $70 with software.
Replacement Pinball PCBs that remain faithful to the originals

Offline vinito

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Kansas City, KS USA
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2011, 02:14:38 PM »