Author Topic: decal tips thread  (Read 1031 times)

Offline Pajo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
decal tips thread
« on: July 25, 2010, 09:02:20 PM »
Thought it might be good to have a thread on tips for installing decals.

I would like share my experience as a complete noob of putting decals on my TZ.  I chose to use the dry method for three main reasons. Firstly I'm planning on keeping this TZ and didn't want to chance compromising the longevity of the glue by doing it wet.  Secondly I was doing it on my own and thought dry would be easier.  Thirdly I couldn't be bothered with all the mess of doing it wet!

I used the method that is well described elsewhere (such as
and http://www.robertwinter.com/pinball/restorations/ft/backbox/index.html) so I won't go into the how to put them on however I would like to share a some of what I did, for other noobs that haven't done this before.

The first tip I saw elsewhere but not illustrated is how to get the front panel positioned correctly.  For a TZ , the critical parts to position are the start button and the bottom line of text.  If you get these right then everything else should be good.   For the positioning, I used two small torches that I turned on and taped using gaffa tape into each of the start and extra ball holes from inside the cabinet (see photo's). I also used a calliper to ensure that the bottom line of text on the decal (Twilight Zone) was parallel to the bottom of the cab.  By positioning the torches correctly, you get a beautiful illuminated circle traced through your decal by each hole in the cabinet.  I used Irwin clams with felt on the jaws to hold the decal in position for the start of the  decal application process.