Author Topic: EMs collectors are on the rise on the gold coast  (Read 558 times)

Offline beaky

• Trade Count: (+7)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Melbourne, Vic
EMs collectors are on the rise on the gold coast
« on: July 28, 2012, 02:41:14 AM »
Up until around a couple of months ago I had refused to repair EM's due to my lack of experience, but lately there have been more and more people on the gold coast ringing me with problems they have with EMs they have recently bought and cannot find anyone to repair them. So feeling sorry for these guys I have started to take on these repairs. I explain to them that i am no expert in fixing EM's but will have a look at it for them because they can't get anyone else to do it. So far it has been smooth sailing with no major overhauls needed up until today. after fixing one of 2 EM's that a customer owns (the first one hasn't been running at %100 for at least 10 years due to a broken wire and some contacts out of alignment) I now have come across one that needs an overhaul. the only problem is I have barely enough time to  keep up with all my board repairs and call outs now I have to squeeze in EM overhauls  ^&^
I even have customers enquiring when they buy another EM if it needs an overhaul can they drop it off for me to do, I explain the costs involved in the overhaul and the time it will take and that hasn't deterred them in anyway.   

The only way around it is to fit a tow bar to the car so I can hire / Buy a trailer and pick up the EM's and repair them at home and do a schedule up for call outs, standard board repairs, Acid damage repairs, and EM overhauls.
I will only be doing the mechanical side of thing and not the cosmetic cleaning and strip downs because i just don't have the time, besides everyone i have spoken to is happy to do their own cleaning.

Any way it comes down to more and more people are buying pinball machines, weather it be EMs , SS's or DMD's  not many people are stopping at one.