Author Topic: JACKS OPEN PLAYFIELD REPAINT.. FINISHED!!!!!!!!!!!!  (Read 1572 times)

Offline Retropin

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Forum Posts:
JACKS OPEN PLAYFIELD REPAINT.. FINISHED!!!!!!!!!!!!
« on: January 15, 2011, 06:54:51 PM »
This jacks Open playfield i have been working on for some 18 months now. I took this job on having viewed the PF in person and the job was always going to be a major touch up. Instead it turned into a complete repaint.
\
Main areas of concern were at the bottom of the PF where significant paint had come away, some of which had already been hand painted in.
This is what i took on

You can see that the purple has been painted in, detail on the playing cards has disappeared and the paint on the blue in particular is in very bad shape.. also significant areas of wear.

My problems really started when i began rubbing this back to get the paint as smooth as possible... great chunks of paint were just coming away. I lost approx 50% of the paint on this PF before halting the rub back process. I normally do the rub back to remove loose or flakey paint... never in my worst nightmares did i expect to remove half the PF. In the end i got some heavy duty tape, wrapped it around my hand with the sticky side out and went round the whole pF placing it down flat and then lifting off.This took up all the little chunks that were flaking off without removing too much paint as the rub back was doing.
I then gave the whole artwork area of this PF a very very light CC and then left it for several weeks to "case harden"
What this does is place a seal over everything that remains.. any loose paint is held down by the good paint etc. Once this is done it means that i can then use stencils on the pF and not have to worry too much about lifting more paint. Its not a perfect technique... bits still come away, but they are small and manageable.