Author Topic: Bally Solenoid Driver Repair  (Read 12849 times)

Offline Strangeways

• Pinball Restoration is my passion
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • High Score Initials:
  • Forum Posts:
  • Melbourne
  • ABN 68 283 634 461
    • Ride The Boney Beast
Bally Solenoid Driver Repair
« on: October 17, 2008, 06:08:42 PM »

Here's something a little different. I'm going to start logging repairs on various boards I have lying around that need repairs. I'm mainly going to focus on games and boards I have a lot of experience with, and some repair techniques that I've used over the years.

Solenoid Driver (Bally / Stern 1977 - 1981)

This board is typical of the boards that have never been repaired or reconditioned. This is a very important component of the Pinballs of this era and if they are not attended to, they can damage OTHER components of your game - particularly displays.

The problems with this board are not visibly noticeable, and you probably would not know there is a problem until you tested it. I plays fine in my Paragon... But there are several issues with this board....

Look at the large silver capacitor.. That's a factory cap that was designed for 10 years operation.
Look at the large blue capacitor.. again ..That's a factory cap that was designed for 10 years operation, and it is leaking !

Measure TP2 and TP4 to ground... Hmmm.. Both over 200 VDC. This is a HUUUGE problem...The HV to the displays is no longer regulating, and I cannot adjust the pot to lower the voltage to 175 - 185 VDC...

But The boards works ???

It is actually DAMAGING the displays, and if you had an Altec MPU board in the game... That could be nasty...

Aussie Pinball - Proud to be Australia's Premier Pinball Forum

http://www.australianpinballrestorations.com.au/

http://www.rtbb.com.au/catalog/

We carry the largest range of NEW Ramps in Australia

Offline Creech

• Forum Founder
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Forum Posts:
  • Adelaide
Re: Bally Solenoid Driver Repair